Return to Rishikesh 

I’m back in Rishikesh for a month of yoga teacher training, and have arrived a few days early to see (and hear!) Rishikesh in the midst of Diwali.

Diwali is celebrated over five days, with the third day being the main festival. Many homes have rangoli (colored sand decorations) on their doorsteps, and have colored lights strung up on their houses. On the third night, there are also candles put out both in homes and on the water.

I was able to watch some rangoli being made, and henna being applied during some celebrations at a local hostel. And there’s been no shortage of fireworks since I got here, going off all day long, but mostly at night. I rather feel sorry for the animals – it must be terrifying for them.

I’m studying at Shiva Yoga Peeth, which is nearly next door to the ashram I stayed in during my visit in August. Imagine my surprise then, when I checked in with some other women and they showed us our rooms – in that same ashram next door! Sadly, I don’t have a balcony like last time, but the actual rooms are nicer this time around. They’ve definitely spruced up the place!

If you’re interested in what the class entails, click here. I’m including some pictures of the ashram, and the general area, and will include more in later updates.

In the meantime, shanti, shanti, shanti.

Inside the Sant Seva ashram courtyard

My room. Pretty spacious for a room in an ashram.
The main yoga hall

Author: mettatsunami

Just another traveler in the world. Various musings as I visit Buddhist monasteries in the UK, then make my way around the world on an extended pilgrimmage.

8 thoughts on “Return to Rishikesh ”

  1. I think it is terrific that you are getting yoga teacher training. I just started taking yoga at a studio in Oregon City, which also has a yoga teacher-training program. I am going to share your pictures with the owner!
    Love getting your posts-
    Karen

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Recently received some teachings from Phillip Moffitt, from one of his teachers who I believe is in Rishikesh. His name is Balyogi Premvarni, He has an ashram there described as on the far side of the river about a 1/4 mile off the bank. The teachings were Balyogi’s ‘map of consciuosness’, he calls himself a universalist, not either Hindu or Buddhist. Very interesting and so far an added exploration for my practice. May you be well! Joan

    Like

Leave a Reply

