Coddled in Coonoor

Wow. This place is amazing.

I arrived in Coonoor late this morning after more adventures on a “sleeper” bus. We took off from Bangalore last night, stopped who-knows-where for a sleep break, and then changed from the sleeper bus to a minibus at 0600. This ended up being a good thing, as I was then wide awake enough to see the herds of deer and a peacock as we drove through Mudumalai Tiger Preserve (sorry, no tiger sightings). We then lumbered up the side of a hill through hairpin turns to Ooty, where we were booted off the minibus. 

“But my ticket was for Coonoor!”

“This is last stop. Take local bus over there. Don’t forget your luggage.”

Harrumph. 

So I took the local bus after asking several people which of the ten buses it was, got a rickshaw, and arrived at Sun Valley Homestay.

Wow. With only a minor splurge, I decided on this place for three nights. I ended up with a very large, clean room with amazing views! See the video from the balcony here.

Then I was whisked off to the restaurant where I was treated to a fantastic South Indian breakfast. I’ll post some food descriptions soon, as the food is great here and is worth sharing about.

And then spent the rest of the day wandering around the tea plantation, and enjoying the views while relaxing on the balcony.

Tomorrow I’ll venture back into the town of Coonoor to visit a few sites, but I must say this place has been totally worth the trip here.

And while not restful, in hindsight, the trip was sort of fun too.

Author: mettatsunami

Just another traveler in the world. Various musings as I visit Buddhist monasteries in the UK, then make my way around the world on an extended pilgrimmage.

5 thoughts on “Coddled in Coonoor”

  1. I am glad you are having a restful respite from on-going travel/movement.
    I would be interested to read what kind of tea they are growing, and maybe where it is sold to. Local use, or international buyers? Have you sipped this tea, while there? Is it fabulous? Do they process it as a green tea, or black tea? Do they use it in a chai/spiced tea?
    Well, morning meditation done, time for my spice tea, milk, honey now.
    Sister Ajahn Metta joins our google HangOuts video morning puja and meditation tomorrow. Amazing international group of 6 women coming together over much distance.
    Peace and ease to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Denise, it’s Sondra in RV. I’ve been trying to catch up with your posts because I was in Austin, TX for two months. However, it has been difficult to reach you at your current destination—-you’re traveling faster than I can read! I am very much enjoying your journal of adventures and love your beautiful photos. Thinking of you with wishes for your good health, safety, and continued enjoyment of your travels. Much loving-friendliness, Sondra

    Like

Leave a Reply

