So long, Ladakh

Our original plan of going to Pangong lake came to a screeching halt when the bridge to that area collapsed. Pangong is renowned for being a very beautiful place and is featured in many movies. It would have been nice to see, but travel is like this. One has to be content with changes in the plan.

 So we went to castles and various other monasteries over the last two days. All of these places are set high up on hills, and bestow wonderful views on those who make the upward effort to visit them. Most of the monasteries prohibit photography inside, but the views outside make up for it. The architecture is quite unique, and I found myself fascinated by the various doorways.

I’m afraid I focused more on just exploring these various places than reading or remembering much of the history. Now that I’m back in Delhi, the Internet is a bit faster, so I can share a few more pictures of the beautiful places I visited.

Tomorrow I’ll part with my Bengali family who have been traveling with me, and venture out by bus to Rishikesh on my own. The adventure continues.



Author: mettatsunami

Just another traveler in the world. Various musings as I visit Buddhist monasteries in the UK, then make my way around the world on an extended pilgrimmage.

7 thoughts on “So long, Ladakh”

  1. Too bad about the bridge but glad you found other places to visit. I am interested in the colorful flags or banners that are in your photos. Do they have a “name” or serve a particular historic purpose?

    Like

    1. The flags are Tibetan Buddhist prayer flags. Each flag is in a color considered to be auspicious, and has prayers printed on it. When the wind blows the flag, the prayers are considered to be released to the heavens.

      Like

  2. wow looks amazing…

    i read the book journey to ladahk years ago and have always wanted to go…

    i am headed south to california now, will be at abhayagiri in a week, i will say hello!

    travel safe

    paul

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

