Say no to crack, but not craic

I waved goodbye to Scotland as I flew across to Dublin, and met a friend of mine I haven’t seen in over 14 years. Larry retired from being a Physician Assistant and made his home in Ireland several years ago. As I knew I was going to be in the neighborhood, so to speak, we agreed to meet in his new hometown of Waterford for a few days.

We did spend a little time in Dublin, and went to the medieval museum in Waterford, along with the Waterford crystal store. I didn’t buy any for several reasons, one of which is that  a few years ago the Waterford store laid off thousands of its workers with essentially a “piss off”  when they moved operations out of the country. 


Most of the time was spent catching up with what we had been doing and just hanging out. One evening we went out to a nearby pub to meet the friends that have become his local family. 

There is a Gaelic term called craic, which loosely translated, is about lively conversation and camaraderie. Yet it’s more than that, lying somewhere beyond where words can go.

I’m not one to frequent bars. I’m not a fan of cigarette smoke, nor do I drink. You might ask, what’s the point? But it was worth going to the pub to spend time with an old friend, make new ones, and to spend some time getting to know them. I would say it was great craic.

Larry, Pat, and Brennan
Good conversation
Slainté

Larry and I

Author: mettatsunami

Just another traveler in the world. Various musings as I visit Buddhist monasteries in the UK, then make my way around the world on an extended pilgrimmage.

5 thoughts on “Say no to crack, but not craic”

  1. You’re looking beautiful and full of life. Giving me inspiration to cut off my locks (I’ve always admired elderly women with long hair) – but hopefully, I’ll have time to grow them out again and again…. Safe travels always…enjoying your blog.
    gail

    Like

    1. Thanks Gail. I’ve had long hair, and this is so much easier to take care of. I may cut it even shorter to cope with the heat in India. We’ll see. If you cut yours, send me pics!-)

      Like

  2. You sure do not look your age in these photos! Glad you had a nice catch-up visit with Larry. The cut crystal is beautiful and nice to see in your photos.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

